...from GuidedPath Edge Guru

When is the PSAT not a practice test?

Edge Tip:

Do you know the entire name of the PSAT test?  It is officially the PSAT/ NMSQT test.  “NMSQT” stands for “National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test”.  The only time you can be considered as a National Merit Scholarship finalist is your junior year.  You have to take the PSAT to even get in the running to be considered.  

Taking the PSAT by grade level

  • Freshman year– It is your first opportunity to take a college prep standardized test. Check to see if your school allows freshmen to take the PSAT/NMSQT.  The  school may want you to take the new PSAT 9 in the fall or the spring.
  • Sophomore year– Take it more seriously- this is the last time you can take this test and not have it sent to the colleges. You may be taking the new PSAT 10 in fall or spring.
  • Junior year– Game time!  Prepare just as you have for the SAT test.  Do your best on this PSAT/NMSQT test.  You will have colleges knocking at your door if you do!

Your Edge

Update your testing schedule in Edge with the PSAT for the fall. Select the green “Add a Test Not Found in the Table” button and find PSAT.

Watch the quick video on how to do this. 

Check with your counselor for registration and test dates.

Related Posts