...from GuidedPath Edge Guru

When is the PSAT not a practice test?

psat - original

Edge Tip:

Do you know the entire name of the PSAT test?  It is officially the PSAT/ NMSQT test.  “NMSQT” stands for “National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test”.  The only time you can be considered as a National Merit Scholarship finalist is your junior year.  You have to take the PSAT to even get in the running to be considered.

Taking the PSAT by grade level

  • Freshman year– It is your first opportunity to take a college prep standardized test. Check to see if your school allows freshmen to take the PSAT/NMSQT.  The  school may want you to take the new PSAT 9 in the fall or the spring.
  • Sophomore year– Take it more seriously- this is the last time you can take this test and not have it sent to the colleges. You may be taking the new PSAT 10 in fall or spring.
  • Junior year– Game time!  Prepare just as you have for the SAT test.  Do your best on this PSAT/NMSQT test.  You will have colleges knocking at your door if you do!

Your Edge:

Update your testing schedule in Edge with the PSAT for the fall. Select the green “Add a Test Not Found in the Table” button and find PSAT. See video  Check with your counselor for registration and test dates.